Cheerful tidings

Partly pre-empting my next post – which is going to start with a bit of post-dormancy navel-gazing about what I’ve been doing while I haven’t been blogging – here’s a Web site I’ve just set up:

More work! Less pay!

It’s for my book More work! Less pay!, which is out very shortly. It’s coming out in a prohibitively expensive academic hardback edition, unfortunately. Hopefully, if it gets a bit of buzz behind it, the university libraries of the world will get through that edition and I’ll be able to push for a paperback.

The Web site includes links to the publisher and to Amazon, a link to Henry’s review on Crooked Timber, an excerpt from the Preface and the book’s table of contents; taken together, they should tell you all you need to know about what the book’s about.

Or almost all. There’s also a ‘Q&A’ link, which currently goes nowhere much. Qs which I’m intending to A on the site include

What’s with the title?
and
What’s with the cover?
and possibly
What’s this got to do with the Decent Left and the government’s Preventing Violent Extremism programme?

All other suggestions are welcome.

Also welcome is publicity from any bloggers reading this who have bigger audiences than mine (which probably means all of you). If you’re interested, the front cover can be seen in greater detail here.

Update

30th November

It’s out! It’s actually, physically available! I’ve held it in my hands (just now, in fact) and can confirm that it’s a lovely piece of work; I haven’t spotted any errors yet, and the cover design works really well. Coming soon, I hope, to a library or a conference or a book reviews section – and possibly even a bookshop – near you.

6 Comments

  1. Posted 29 October 2009 at 19:04 | Permalink | Reply

    Dammit Phil, if you’ve started blogging again that means I have to start blogging again (you’re my negative benchmark).

    Remember to tell me when the book is out/get someone to send HM a review copy.

  2. Posted 6 November 2009 at 10:17 | Permalink | Reply

    The queen reads this stuff?

    • Posted 6 November 2009 at 12:07 | Permalink | Reply

      I could say that nothing would surprise me, but it would be a lie – that *would* surprise me. Rob’s referring to this HM.

  3. Posted 9 April 2010 at 20:57 | Permalink | Reply

    hi Phil,
    I found your blog because I googled your book title, wondering what folk are saying about it. I just wanted to drop you a line to say I picked up your book at the library in the new books section the other day. I’m very excited to read it. I’m mostly done with the first chapter and it’s very good (and not just because of the subject matter). Thanks for writing it.
    Warmly,
    Nate

    • Phil
      Posted 12 April 2010 at 09:26 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Nate,

      Glad you’re liking the book! Which library?

      • Posted 13 April 2010 at 06:40 | Permalink

        hi Phil,
        It’s the university library in Minneapolis.
        take care,
        Nate

Leave a Reply

