Deep turquoise eyes

I’m sorry to see that Ellis has closed his blog. I’ve enjoyed and admired Ellis’s writing since we were both contributors to Casablanca; I remember he did a piece on the slave trade ostensibly by John Smith, which antedated Tony Benn’s joke at the expense of the Economist by a decade and a half. Unfortunately it also antedated the death of John Smith by a matter of weeks. (To its great credit, Casablanca printed it anyway.)

Anyway, you could be forgiven for thinking that this blog was going the same way, or had already gone; come to that, it would be the obvious conclusion for me to draw myself. Call me Bartleby, but I prefer not to: I’m not closing this blog, and will post again. Admittedly, posting is likely to remain fairly sparse; I’ve been a bit busy lately, and can’t see the situation changing in the next couple of months. But I’ve got something to say about Graham Greene and Corvo, and something slightly less dated about Decent comment on the de Menezes shooting, and something about French supermarkets, and I had this great idea about Bowie’s sax-playing and Kazuo Ishiguro, and I really ought to say something about what I’ve been doing these last few months… Terrors of the earth, I’m telling you. Stand by.

Oh, and a Happy New Year to all my reathe reader of these words. (I’m assuming a solitary reader; I suppose someone could be reading this over your shoulder, in which case the word is ‘readers’.) ¡Hasta luego!

6 Comments

  1. Chris Williams
    Posted 2 January 2008 at 22:54 | Permalink | Reply

    And to you, mate. Have a good one in 2008.

  2. Nich Hills
    Posted 4 January 2008 at 13:32 | Permalink | Reply

    Cheers, Phil

  3. Chris Williams
    Posted 9 January 2008 at 21:44 | Permalink | Reply

    And to you _too_ Nich. Congrats on getting a new PM at last.

  4. Posted 14 January 2008 at 14:45 | Permalink | Reply

    Good to see you blogging again. I’ve put you back on to my blogroll.

    So, you might be heading down Burslem this Sat?

  5. Syd Webb
    Posted 15 January 2008 at 13:23 | Permalink | Reply

    Chris Williams wrote:
    And to you _too_ Nich. Congrats on getting a new PM at last.

    Cheers, Chris.

    As an ALP member I am of course delighted with the new PM. As a civil servant I’m well aware that Kevin is a former mandarin himself – ex-head of the Qld Department of Premier and Cabinet; chief-of-staff to Wayne Goss. You might think this severely curtails the possibility for yes-ministerism; I couldn’t possibly comment.

  6. Posted 16 January 2008 at 20:25 | Permalink | Reply

    Phil – I doubt it, I’m afraid. I don’t always get to demos in M’cr, let alone further afield. The Respect split has made me feel there might be something worth doing on the English Left for the first time in about a decade, which is good, but I’m not quite at the point of thinking I should be one of the people doing it.

Leave a Reply

